Friday, January 17, 2014 -

Bryan Clauson, originally of Carmichael, California, and now living in Noblesville, Indiana, today was named the 2013 “Driver of the Year” by the North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers for the second time.  The United States Auto Club (USAC) sprint car champion earned thirteen (13) of the sixteen (16) first-place ballots cast in the year-end poll.

Those drivers ranked second through fifth, respectively, are King of Indiana Sprint Series (KISS) champion Dave Darland of Indiana, Kevin Thomas, Jr., of Alabama, USAC-California Racing Association (CRA) champion Damion Gardner of California, and Midwest Sprint Car Series (MSCS) champion Jon Stanbrough of Indiana.  Rounding out the ‘top ten’ drivers are Chase Stockon, Brady Bacon, Nic Faas, Brady Short and Mike Spencer, respectively.  Dave Darland captured three (3) first-place votes.  Dave Darland will receive the “Wild Card Award” for his exciting non-winged sprint car performances in 2013, while his sprint car owners, Carla & Steve Phillips, will receive the 2013 non-winged sprint car “Team of the Year” award for their first time.

Sean Buckley of “Flip the Switch Indiana Sprint Cars” on MAV-TV will receive the North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll “Media Member of the Year” honor.  Jim O’Connor of the Kokomo Speedway will earn the “Promoter of the Year” title for the third time.

Christopher Bell of Oklahoma will receive the 2013 North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll “Rookie of the Year” award from the voting panel.  Joe Devin of DRC Chassis will receive the “Builder/Manufacturer of the Year” honors for the sixth time.

The North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll is an annual awards program of the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation, Inc., of Knoxville, Iowa.  All awards will be distributed in the spring of 2014 at tracks throughout North America.  The awards were announced on the fourth day of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals in Tulsa, Oklahoma.


Final 2013 North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll

rank, driver (first place votes), hometown, state/province, points

1., Bryan Clauson (13), Carmichael, CA, 1380

2., Dave Darland (3), Walton, IN, 945

3., Kevin Thomas, Jr., Cullman, AL, 413

4., Damion Gardner, Concord, CA, 343

5., Jon Stanbrough, Jamestown, IN, 312


6., Chase Stockon, Elizabethtown, IN, 254

7., Brady Bacon, Broken Arrow, OK, 237

8., Nic Faas, Huntington Beach, CA, 164

9., Brady Short, Bedford, IN, 154

10., Mike Spencer, Temecula, CA, 153


11., Tracy Hines, New Castle, IN, 146

12., Robert Ballou, Rocklin, CA, 82

13., R.J. Johnson, Phoenix, AZ, 47

tie, Chris Windom, Canton, IL, 47

15., Ryan Bernal, Hollister, CA, 44


16., Chad Boespflug, Hanford, CA, 40

17., Brandon “Bud” Kaeding, Los Gatos, CA, 25

tie, Scotty Weir, Marion, IN, 25

19., Jerry Coons (Jr.), Tucson, AZ, 23

20., Wes McIntyre, McCordsville, IN, 18


21., Matt Mitchell, Yorba Linda, CA, 16

22., Danny Faria (Jr.), Tipton, CA, 12

23., Charles Davis (Jr.), Buckeye, AZ, 7

tie, Hunter Schuerenberg, Sikeston, MO, 7

25., Christopher Bell, Norman, OK, 6


* 30 *