13 Inductees set as Class of 2011 for National Sprint Car Hall of Fame

Gary Wright (Ken Coles Photo)
Wednesday, June 01, 2011 - The National Sprint Car Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the names of its thirteen inductees for 2011.  Those that will be inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame on Saturday, June 4th, during the twenty-second annual ceremonies in Knoxville, Iowa, are:

Drivers:  Jimmy Boyd, Bob Burman, Wally Campbell, Danny Lasoski, Joe Sostilio, Gary Wright.

Owners-Mechanics-Builders-Manufacturers-Car Sponsors:  Bruce Bromme (Jr.), Andy Granatelli, Leonard Kerbs.

Promoters-Officials-Media Members-Event/Series Sponsors:  W.W. Bowen, Gene Marderness, Della Rice, Emmett Shelley.

According to National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Foundation executive director Bob Baker, “We are very proud of the work done by our 72-member National Induction Committee each and every year, and this year is no exception.  We are equally thrilled that we will be honoring six individuals in their lifetimes in 2011, which sadly is not something that we always get to do.  We have already received verbal commitments from Jimmy Boyd of northern California, Danny Lasoski of Missouri, Gary Wright of Texas, Bruce Bromme, Jr., of southern California, Andy Granatelli of southern California, and Gene Marderness of Florida that they will be with us in Knoxville on June 4 to receive their awards.”

Baker, in making the announcement during the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals, continued, “By the same token, it is unfortunate we will also have seven posthumous inductions to make this year.  However, we know that it is our mission to educate the current fans of sprint car racing on the many accomplishments of people like Bob Burman, Wally Campbell, Joe Sostilio, Leonard Kerbs, W.W. Bowen, Della Rice and Emmett Shelley.  Their lives and careers will never be forgotten at the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Iowa!”